Orica GreenEDGE (OGE)

Michael Albasini (35) is the only Swiss rider in the service of Australian team Orica GreenEDGE. The rider from Eastern Switzerland is unlikely to be satisfied with his 6th place on the 7th stage from Biel to Düdingen and his 8th place on the 8th stage, a circuit in Bern. The last time he won a stage in the Tour de Suisse was in 2012. However, his team-mate Michael Matthews won last year's 4th stage from Flims to Schwarzenbach (SG). Michael Albasini prepared the ground for the Australian’s sprint victory.

Orica GreenEDGE is largely made up of distinguished riders like Luke Durbridge, Road Captain Matthew Hayman, Canadian veteran Svein Tuft and sprinter Michael Matthews. Another winning rider is Simon Gerrans. The difficult and mountainous anniversary edition of the Tour de Suisse would appear to be ideal for the 23-year-old, lightweight British twins Simon and Adam Yates.

Title sponsor Orica is a global company which mainly produced explosives for Australian gold mines when it was established in 1874. The company now has a broad base in the chemicals and raw materials sector, and is listed on the Australian stock exchange. The team is further financed by Australian businessman Gerry Ryan, who owns Jayco, the American manufacturer of recreational vehicles. The colours of Orica GreenEDGE are dark blue, green and white.

Orica GreenEDGE (OGE)

Michael Albasini (35) ist der einzige Schweizer in Diensten des australischen Teams Orica GreenEDGE. Mit seinem 6. Rang auf der 7. Etappe von Biel nach Düdingen und seinem 8. Rang auf der 8. Etappe, einem Rundkurs in Bern, dürfte der Ostschweizer nicht zufrieden sein. Im Jahr 2012 holte er sich letztmals einen Etappensieg an der Tour de Suisse. Siegreich war hingegen sein Team-Kollege Michael Matthews auf der letztjährigen 4. Etappe von Flims nach Schwarzenbach (SG). Zu diesem Sprintsieg des Australiers leistete Michael Albasini wertvolle Vorarbeit.   

Orica GreenEDGE besteht aus mehrheitlich ausgezeichneten Rouleuren wie Luke Durbridge, Road Captain Matthew Hayman, dem kanadischen Routinier Svein Tuft sowie dem Sprinter Michael Matthews. Ein weiterer Siegfahrer ist Simon Gerrans. Die harte und bergige Jubiläumsausgabe der Tour de Suisse wäre indessen zugeschnitten auf die beiden 23-jährigen federleichten britischen Zwillinge Simon und Adam Yates.

Titelsponsor Orica ist ein globales Unternehmen, das bei seiner Gründung 1874 hauptsächlich Sprengstoff für australische Goldminen produzierte. Heute ist das Unternehmen im Chemie- und Rohstoffsektor breit aufgestellt und an der australischen Börse kotiert. Das Team wird zu einem weiteren Teil vom australischen Geschäftsmann Gerry Ryan finanziert, der Eigentümer des amerikanischen Herstellers von Wohnmobilen der Marke Jayco ist. Die Farben von Orica GreenEDGE sind Dunkelblau, Grün und Weiss.