Team Giant - Alpecin (TGA)

An accident in spring, in which a British tourist in Spain veered onto the wrong side of the road in her hire car and collided with a Giant-Alpecin training group, completely messed up Giant-Alpecin’s plans for the season. Fortunately, all six involved Giant-Alpecin riders, including John Degenkolb, will recover from their injuries.

Dutchman Tom Dumoulin is a likely contender for the overall victory, having won the prologue of last year’s tour and the final time trial, and as the proud wearer of the leader jerseys for three days. The team has been joined by Dutchman Laurens Ten Dam, who came eighth overall in the 2011 Tour de Suisse. The mountain specialist has good chances of taking a stage victory in the tough anniversary edition of the Tour de Suisse, especially since this year offers a perfect preparation for the Tour de France.

The Giant cycle brand was established 43 years ago in Taiwan and now has over 12,000 dealership partners worldwide. Shampoo manufacturer Alpecin has been the new team sponsor since 2015. Team Giant-Alpecin has also been riding with a German licence since 2015.

Team Giant - Alpecin (TGA)

Ein Unfall im Frühjahr, bei dem eine britische Touristin in Spanien mit ihrem Mietauto auf die falsche Strassenseite geriet und mit einer Trainingsgruppe von Giant-Alpecin kollidierte, brachte die Saisonplanung von Giant-Alpecin komplett durcheinander. Glücklicherweise werden sich alle sechs betroffenen Fahrer von Giant-Alpecin, darunter John Degenkolb, von ihren Verletzungen erholen.

Auf den Gesamtsieg fahren dürfte erneut der Niederländer Tom Dumoulin, an der letztjährigen Tour immerhin Sieger des Prologs und des abschliessenden Einzelzeitfahrens sowie an drei Tagen stolzer Träger des Leadertrikots. Neu im Team ist der Niederländer Laurens Ten Dam, der Gesamt-Achte der Tour de Suisse 2011. Dem Bergspezialisten wäre ein Etappensieg an der harten Jubiläumsausgabe der Tour de Suisse zuzutrauen, zumal sie in diesem Jahr eine perfekte Vorbereitung für die Tour de France bietet.

Die Radmarke Giant wurde vor 43 Jahren in Taiwan gegründet und verfügt heute über mehr als 12'000 Handelspartner weltweit. Der Shampoo-Hersteller Alpecin ist seit 2015 Teamsponsor. Ebenfalls seit 2015 fährt das Team Giant-Alpecin mit einer deutschen Lizenz.