Aqua Blue Sport (ABS) - Wildcard

Rick Delaney is an Irish businessman who lives in Monaco. In 2017, he founded the Pro-Continental team Aqua Blue Sport. Unlike other wealthy cycling fans, he’s not seeking traditional patronage for his team but instead hoping that it will be self-sustaining in the very near future.

Aqua Blue Sport enters the Tour de Suisse for the first time thanks to a wild card. The team’s colour is dark blue and its jersey sports a large golden A along with a golden shamrock on the chest, Ireland’s unofficial national emblem. Legend has it that St Patrick used the three-leaf clover to explain the holy trinity to the Celtic king Laoghaire. The three leaves were said to symbolise the Father, Son and Holy Spirit

Aqua Blue Sport is made up of three racers from Ireland, four from the UK, three Australians, two Dutch, one American and one Austrian. It’s likely that there’s a big red circle around the Tour de Suisse dates on the calendar of Stefan Denifl of Austria, considering that he won the Tour de Suisse mountain prize category in 2015 when he was still racing in the colours of IAM Cycling. He is also expected to have his sights set on mountain stages again this year.

Aqua Blue Sport (ABS) - Wildcard

Rick Delaney ist ein irischer Geschäftsmann mit Wohnsitz in Monaco und gründete per 2017 das Pro-Continental-Team Aqua Blue Sport. Im Gegensatz zu anderen wohlhabenden Radsportfans verfolgt er mit dem Team kein klassisches Mäzenatentum, sondern möchte es so aufstellen, dass es baldmöglichst selbsttragend ist.

Aqua Blue Sport startet an der Tour de Suisse dank einer Wildcard. Teamfarbe ist Dunkelblau. Auf dem Trikot prangt ein grosses goldenes A. Auf der Brust sieht man zudem ein goldiges, dreiblättriges Kleeblatt, dem inoffiziellen Nationalemblem der Iren. Der Sage nach benutzte der Heilige Patrick ein dreiblättriges Kleeblatt (shamrock), um dem keltischen Hochkönig Laoghaire die Dreifaltigkeit zu erklären: Die drei Blätter sollten den Vater, Sohn und Heiligen Geist symbolisieren.

Aqua Blue Sport besteht aus drei Iren, vier Briten, drei Australiern, zwei Niederländern, einem US-Amerikaner und einem Österreicher. Der Österreicher Stefan Denifl dürfte sich die Tour de Suisse rot im Kalender markiert haben, zumal er sich an der Tour de Suisse 2015 als Sieger der Bergpreiswertung feiern lassen durfte. Damals kämpfte er noch in den Farben von IAM Cycling. Zu erwarten ist, dass er auch in der diesjährigen Ausgabe die Bergetappen im Visier hat.