Loading ...
Loading ...
Loading ...

Direct Energie (DEN) - Wildcard

Since its founding in 2000 by Jean-René Bernadeau, the French team has changed its name several times, the last time two years ago from Europcar to Direct Energie. The jersey colours are black and yellow; the naming sponsor is a power company. The French Pro Continental team was given a wild card by the organisers of the Tour de Suisse.

Thomas Vöckler (37) of France has been a member of the team since its founding 17 years ago and is still among the leaders of Direct Energie. TV broadcasts again and again show his daring breakaway attempts. When he tackles the mountain stages, mouth gaping, he demonstrates an edgy racing style that makes him so memorable.

The top racers also include 24-year-old Bryan Coquard and Sylvain Chavanel (37), who returned again this season. Chavanel has returned to his original team after pedalling for the now defunct IAM Cycling Team for the last two years. The Direct Energie team is made up exclusively of Frenchmen – with one exception: Antoine Duchesne definitely sounds French, but he is actually Canadian.

Loading ...
Loading ...
Loading ...

Direct Energie (DEN) - Wildcard

Seit der Gründung im Jahr 2000 durch Jean-René Bernadeau ist die französische Equipe unter verschiedenen Namen unterwegs. Letztmals wechselte das Team vor zwei Jahren seinen Namen von Europcar auf Direct Energie. Die Trikotfarben sind Schwarz und Gelb, der Naming Sponsor ist ein Elektrizitätsunternehmen. Das französische Pro-Continental-Team erhielt von den Tour de Suisse Organisatoren eine Wildcard.

Der Franzose Thomas Vöckler (37) ist seit der Gründung vor 17 Jahren Teammitglied und gehört nach wie vor zu den Leadern von Direct Energie. Er präsentiert sich bei TV-Übertragungen immer wieder mit waghalsigen Fluchtversuchen. Wenn er mit weit aufgesperrtem Mund am Berg antritt, zeigt er jeweils einen unruhigen und entsprechend einprägsamen Fahrstil.

Zudem gehören der 24-jährige Bryan Coquard und seit dieser Saison wieder Sylvain Chavanel (37) zu den Top-Fahrern. Chavanel kehrt zu seinem Ursprungsteam zurück, nachdem er die letzten zwei Jahre für das inzwischen aufgelöste IAM Cycling Team unterwegs gewesen war. Das Team Direct Energie besteht ausschliesslich aus Franzosen, mit einer einzigen Ausnahme: Antoine Duchesne tönt zwar durchaus Französisch, er ist aber Franco-Kanadier.