Loading ...
Loading ...
Loading ...

Team KATUSHA ALPECIN (KAT)

Katusha-Alpecin has been racing with a Swiss license since 2017. After the IAM Cycling team disbanded, at least the Swiss team still has one Swiss racer: Reto Hollenstein. This season, naming sponsor Alpecin also switched from Giant-Alpecin to Katusha.

Katusha was founded in 2008 as part of a Russian cycling project backed by the former CEOs of three large Russian companies: Sergey Chemezov from Rostec, Alexey Miller from Gazprom and Igor Makarov from ITERA.

Katusha-Alpecin collected a win in the general classification with Simon Spilak at the Tour de Suisse 2015. But it only during the final time trial that the Slovenian managed to outperform Thibaut Pinot (FDJ). The area around the finish in Bern was pulsing with pure excitement. Spilak held just a five-second lead on Welshman Geraint Thomas (Sky) at the end. In 2016, however, Spilak failed to build on his success, coming in ninth in the general classification.

Team KATUSHA ALPECIN (KAT)

Seit 2017 fährt Katusha-Alpecin mit einer Schweizer Lizenz. So fand mit Reto Hollenstein nach der Auflösung des Teams IAM Cycling zumindest ein Schweizer Unterschlupf im „Schweizer“ Team. Zudem wechselte Naming Sponsor Alpecin auf die aktuelle Saison hin von Giant-Alpecin zu Katusha.

Katusha entstand aus einem 2008 gegründeten, russischen Radsportprojekt. Dahinter standen die damaligen CEOs von drei grossen russischen Unternehmen: Sergey Chemezov von Rostec, Alexey Miller von Gazprom und Igor Makarov von ITERA.

Katusha-Alpecin stellt mit Simon Spilak den Gesamtsieger 2015 der Tour de Suisse. Erst im abschliessenden Zeitfahren vermochte der Slowene vor zwei Jahren den führenden Thibaut Pinot (FDJ) zu überflügeln. Spannung pur herrschte im Zielbereich in Bern. Gerade mal 5 Sekunden betrug Spilaks Vorsprung am Ende auf den Waliser Geraint Thomas (Sky). 2016 vermochte Spilak jedoch nicht an seinen Erfolg anzuknüpfen und wurde im Gesamtklassement Neunter.