Loading ...
Loading ...
Loading ...

New year – new team

Key team changes and updates for 2019

There will be a few changes and even a new WorldTour team in the upcoming 2019 season.

When BMC Racing Team wasn’t able to find a replacement sponsor, it merged with the Polish continental team CCC-Sprandi. The new team will begin the 2019 season under the name CCC Team. Its most well-known rider is the Belgian Olympic champion and classics specialist Greg van Avermaet. The team, which includes several riders from CCC-Sprandi as well as the Swiss former BMC rider Michael Schär, is strongly oriented towards its Belgian leader.

Richie Porte: the winner of the Tour de Suisse 2018 and former leader of BMC will move to Trek-Segafredo in the new season.

Izagirre brothers: the two Basque brothers Ion and Gorka Izagirre are moving from Bahrain-Merida to Astana Pro Team.

Larry Warbasse: the American winner of the mountain stage to Villars-sur-Ollon (2017) is moving from the continental team Aqua Blue Sport to AG2R La Mondiale.

Tejay van Garderen: the winner of the mountain stage to Sölden (2016) is moving to Team EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale.

And a handful of Swiss riders will be competing in new colours in the new season:

Stefan Küng is moving to the French team Groupama-FDJ.

Kilian Frankiny is following Stefan Küng; together with Steve Morabito and Sébastin Reichenbach (thus far), they will form a strong Swiss quartet at Groupama-FDJ.

Tom Bohli is moving to UAE Team Emirates.

Marc Hirschi, the U23 road world champion, will join the professional circuit in the new season with Team Sunweb.

Together with the longstanding bike sponsor BMC, Danilo Wyss is moving to the South African team Dimension Data. 

Gino Mäder is another U23 rider moving to the professional circuit in the 2019 season; he will start at Dimension Data.


Photo: Chris Auld Photography

share this page