Team Giant - Alpecin (TGA)

An accident in spring, in which a British tourist in Spain veered onto the wrong side of the road in her hire car and collided with a Giant-Alpecin training group, completely messed up Giant-Alpecin’s plans for the season. Fortunately, all six involved Giant-Alpecin riders, including John Degenkolb, will recover from their injuries.

Dutchman Tom Dumoulin is a likely contender for the overall victory, having won the prologue of last year’s tour and the final time trial, and as the proud wearer of the leader jerseys for three days. The team has been joined by Dutchman Laurens Ten Dam, who came eighth overall in the 2011 Tour de Suisse. The mountain specialist has good chances of taking a stage victory in the tough anniversary edition of the Tour de Suisse, especially since this year offers a perfect preparation for the Tour de France.

The Giant cycle brand was established 43 years ago in Taiwan and now has over 12,000 dealership partners worldwide. Shampoo manufacturer Alpecin has been the new team sponsor since 2015. Team Giant-Alpecin has also been riding with a German licence since 2015.

Team Giant - Alpecin (TGA)

Un accident au printemps où une touriste britannique circulait en contresens en Espagne avec sa voiture de location et a percuté un groupe de Giant-Alpecin qui s'entraînait, a complètement troublé la planification de la saison de Giant-Alpecin. Heureusement les six coureurs concernés de Giant-Alpecin, dont John Degenkolb, se sont rétablis.

Le Néerlandais Tom Dumoulin prendra sûrement à nouveau le départ pour gagner, il est après tout le vainqueur du prologue et du contre-la-montre individuel final du tour de l'année dernière et a porté trois jours le maillot de leader. Le Néerlandais Laurens Ten Dam, 8e au classement général du Tour de Suisse de 2011 est nouveau dans l'équipe. Ce spécialiste de montagne pourrait remporter une étape de cette édition anniversaire difficile du Tour de Suisse, d'autant plus qu'elle représente cette année une excellente préparation pour le Tour de France.

La marque de vélos Giant a été fondée il y a 43 ans à Taïwan et dispose aujourd’hui de plus de 12’000 partenaires commerciaux dans le monde entier. Le fabricant de shampoing Alpecin est le sponsor d’équipe depuis 2015. Depuis 2015 également, l’équipe Giant-Alpecin roule sous licence allemande.