Loading ...
Loading ...
Loading ...

Swiss Cycling - Wildcard

A selection of riders from the Swiss national team will be lining up at the Tour de Suisse. This has been made possible by a rule change decided by the world governing body UCI during the Road World Championships in Innsbruck.

It will make the tour a showcase for promising athletes who have not yet established themselves in a World Tour team. Up-and-coming riders usually only get the opportunity to acquire experience of the highest-level tours if they are under contract with a pro continental team that receives a wild card.

The Swiss Cycling team is expected to consist primarily of younger elite riders who have not yet managed to gain a place in the top tier of cycling. It is likely to include a track and/or mountain bike specialist as well. The national road coach Marcello Albasini is delighted with this new highlight of the sporting calendar: «It’s extremely valuable for us to be able to offer our young athletes the chance to see how they measure up at the highest level in this fantastic race.»

Loading ...
Loading ...
Loading ...

Swiss Cycling - Wildcard

Eine Regeländerung, die der Weltverband UCI im Rahmen der Strassen-Weltmeisterschaften in Innsbruck beschlossen hat, macht es möglich: An der Tour de Suisse wird eine Auswahl des Schweizer Nationalteams starten.

Die Landesrundfahrt wird auf diese Weise zum Schaufenster für vielversprechenden Athleten, die noch nicht in einer World-Tour-Mannschaft Fuss gefasst haben. Gelegenheiten, in Rundfahrten der obersten Liga Erfahrungen zu sammeln, finden aufstrebende Fahrer sonst praktisch nur vor, wenn sie in einem Pro-Continental-Team unter Vertrag stehen und dieses eine Wild Card erhält.

Es ist davon auszugehen, dass die Equipe von Swiss Cycling primär aus jüngeren Elite-Strassenfahrern bestehen wird, die sich noch keinen Platz in der Beletage des Radsports ergattern konnten. Womöglich wird auch ein Bahn- und/oder ein Mountainbike-Spezialist dabei sein. Strassen-Nationaltrainer Marcello Albasini freut sich auf den neuen Höhepunkt im Jahreskalender: «Für uns ist es extrem wertvoll, dass wir unseren jungen Athleten die Gelegenheit bieten können, sich an diesem schönen Rennen auf höchstem Niveau zu messen».