New Year – New Team
5. January 2019









The most important team changes and modifications for 2019

For the coming 2019 season there are some changes and even a new team in the WorldTour.

After the team BMC could not find a sponsor replacement, it “merged” with the Polish Continental team CCC-Sprandi. The new formation starts for the 2019 season under the name CCC-Team. The most famous name in the team is the Belgian Olympic champion and classic specialist Greg van Avermaet. The team, which has some riders from the CCC-Sprandi period in its ranks, is strongly focused on its Belgian leader. The Swiss ex-BMC driver Michael Schär was also in on the action.

Richie Porte; the winner of the Tour de Suisse 2018 and former leader at BMC, is switching to Trek-Segafredo for the new season.

Izagire brothers; The two Basque brothers Ion and Gorka Izagire change from Bahrain-Merida to the Astana Pro Team.

Larry Warbasse; The American winner of the mountain stage to Villars-sur-Ollon (2017) is switching from the Continental Aqua Blue Sport team to AG2R La Mondiale.

Teja van Garderen; The winner of the mountain stage to Sölden (2016) joins the team EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale.

And a handful of Swiss are also out in new colours for the new season:

Stefan Küng changes to the French Equipe Groupama-FDJ.

Kilian Frankiny joins Stefan Küng and will form a strong Swiss quartet with Steve Morabito and Sébastin Reichenbach (so far) on Groupama-FDJ.

Tom Bohli changes to the team UAE – Team Emirates.

Marc Hirschi, U23 Road World Champion, will become a professional with Team Sunweb for the new season.

Danillo Wyss joins the South African Equipe Dimension Data together with the long-time bike sponsor BMC.

With Gino Mäder, another U-23 rider is switching to the 2019 season as a professional. To Team Dimension Data.

Photo: Chris Auld Photography

Letzte Beiträge

We ride for you Gino!

We ride for you Gino!

The whole Tour de Suisse management is heartbroken. After the death of the Swiss professional...