New year – new team?
4. January 2020









The most important team changes and modifications for 2020

For the coming 2020 season there are some changes and two new teams in the WorldTour.

Team Katusha-Alpecin, which rode under Swiss licence, will end its involvement at the end of 2019. The ProContinental Team Israel Cycling Academy takes over the World Tour license and a large part of the riders under contract. The team will start in the 2020 season under the name Israel Start-up Nation.
Reto Hollenstein from Switzerland will therefore be wearing new colours from January and will have two Swiss team mates in Patrick Schelling and Matteo Badilatti. Schelling and Badilatti both attracted attention with strong performances at the Tour de Suisse 2019 (Schelling with the outstanding 11th place in the final).
Other new additions to Team Israel Cycling Academy are German sprint star André Greipel and Irish Dan Martin.

With the French team Cofidis Solutions Crédits, the WorldTour gets an addition from the second most successful ProContinental team (behind Isreael Cycling Academy). This is made possible by a renewal in the UCI regulations, which provide for a kind of promotion and relegation mode for the teams in the future.
The most famous name will be the two-time Tour de Suisse sprint winner Elia Viviani. He is switching to Cofidis Solutions Crédits for the new season.
Another figurehead is the Spanish climbing specialist Jesus Herrada, who won a stage at the Vuelta 2019.

With Rohan Dennis another stage winner of the TdS 2019 Team changes. The winner of the Tour de Suisse opening time trial in Langnau, runner-up in the overall classification and reigning time trial world champion will switch to the English team Ineos.

The Colombian stage winner of the TdS 2018 Nairo Quintana changes to the French team Arkéa Samsic (ProContinental Tour) for the 2020 season. At Arkéa Samsic he meets the current French champion and winner of the 2017 TdF mountain classification Warren Barguil.

Swiss rider Fabian Lienhard, who finished in the top 10 in all 3 sprints at the Tour de Suisse 2019, is switching to the Equipe Groupama – FDJ for the new season and will be team mate of Stefan Küng, Sébastien Reichenbach and Kilian Frankiny.

The young Swiss Stefan Bissegger, who won a stage in the Tour de l’Ain, the Tour de l’ Avenir, as well as second place in the U23 World Championship in the 2019 season, will ride for the American WorldTour Team EF Education First from August 2020.
Until then, Stefan Bissegger and the Swiss four-man team will put everything on the map for the Olympic Games in Tokyo. They proved that they are on the right track with an impressive victory at the World Cup in Cambridge.

Further team changes for the 2020 season:
– The current Giro winner Richard Carapaz changes to the English team Ineos.
– The Giro winner of 2018 Tom Dumoulin changes to the Dutch team Jumbo-Visma.
– Vincenzo Nibali, who has already won all 3 Grand Tours, now rides for the American-Italian team Trek-Segafredo.
– Mikel Landa will step into his footsteps as GC leader at Bahrain-McLaren.
– Enric Mas, who finished the last two Tour de Suisse events in the top 10, will be the new leader of the Spanish Movistar Team.

In the new season, two teams will also change their names (& colours), Bahrain-Merida will become Bahrain-McLaren and Dimension Data will become NTT Pro Cycling.

Letzte Beiträge