Loading ...
Loading ...
Loading ...

New year - new team?

The most important team changes and amendments for 2020

For the coming 2020 season there are several changes plus the addition of two new teams to the WorldTour.

The Katusha-Alpecin team, which rode under Swiss licence, will wind up at the end of 2019, with the ProContinental Team Israel Cycling Academy taking over the World Tour licence and many of the riders currently under contract. The team will launch in the 2020 season under the name Israel Start-up Nation.

Swiss rider Reto Hollenstein will be sporting new colours from January and is joined by two Swiss team-mates in Patrick Schelling and Matteo Badilatti. Schelling and Badilatti both attracted attention with strong performances at the Tour de Suisse 2019 (Schelling with an outstanding 11th place finish).
Other new additions to Team Israel Cycling Academy are German sprint star André Greipel and Irishman Dan Martin.

French Team Cofidis Solutions Crédits climbs ranks to the WorldTour as the second most successful ProContinental Team (behind Israel Cycling Academy). This is made possible by a change in the UCI regulations enabling promotion and relegation of teams in the future. Their most high-profile name will be double Tour de Suisse Sprint winner Elia Viviani who joins Cofidis Solutions Crédits for the new season. Another notable addition is Spanish climbing specialist Jesus Herrada who won a stage at the Vuelta 2019.

Rohan Dennis is yet one more stage winner of the TdS 2019 Team to make a move. The winner of the Tour de Suisse opening time trial in Langnau, runner-up in the overall classification and reigning time trial world champion is switching to the English team Ineos.

Colombian stage winner of the TdS 2018 Nairo Quintana moves to the French team Arkéa Samsic (ProContinental Tour) for the 2020 season. At Arkéa Samsic he joins the current French champion and winner of the 2017 TdF mountain classification Warren Barguil.

Swiss rider Fabian Lienhard, who finished in the top 10 in all three sprints at the Tour de Suisse 2019, starts the new season with Groupama - FDJ joining his countrymen Stefan Küng, Sébastien Reichenbach and Kilian Frankiny.

Young Swiss rider Stefan Bissegger, who won a stage at the Tour de l'Ain, the Tour de l' Avenir, as well as second place at the U23 World Championships in the 2019 season, will ride for the American WorldTour Team EF Education First from August 2020.

Before then Bissegger, together with the four-man Swiss track team, will be putting everything on the line at the Olympic Games in Tokyo. They proved that they are in good form with an impressive victory at the World Cup in Cambridge.

Further team changes for the 2020 season:
- Current Giro winner Richard Carapaz is moving to the English team Ineos.
- Giro winner of 2018 Tom Dumoulin changes to the Dutch team Jumbo-Visma.
- Vincenzo Nibali, who has already won all 3 Grand Tours, will now ride for the American-Italian team Trek-Segafredo.
- Mikel Landa will replace Nibali as GC-Leader with Bahrain-McLaren.
- Enric Mas, who placed in the top 10 at the last two editions of the Tour de Suisse will be the new leader of the Spanish Movistar Team.

In the new season two teams will change their names. Bahrain-Merida will be known as Bahrain-McLaren and Dimension Data will change to NTT Pro Cycling.

share this page