Loading ...
Loading ...
Loading ...

More Press Release


The challengers are lining up

Lively sprints are assured by the confirmed starts of Fernando Gaviria (Etixx-Quickstep), Michael Matthews (ORICA GreenEdge), and Jurgen Roelandts (Lotto Soudal). Benat Intxausti (Sky), Laurens Ten Dam (Giant-Alpecin) and Robert Gesink (LottoNL-Jumbo) are also announced for the fight for the overall classification.

With eleven stage wins, reigning World Champion Peter Sagan is still on a par with Swiss cycling legends Hugo Koblet and Ferdy Kübler. There are still a few major competitors for him to overcome during this year's Tour de Suisse on his way to an undisputed record. The Columbian Fernando Gaviria (Etixx-Quickstep) was forced to miss a few races in May following a broken finger, and comes to this race with fresh legs. Recent additions to the Tour de Suisse include Michael Matthews (Orica GreenEDGE), winner of the fourth stage last year in Schwarzenbach (SG), and Jurgen Roelandts (Lotto Soudal), second in the final sprint in Biel. 

Confirmed starts for riders in the overall rankings

Another rider who could make history during this year's anniversary edition is Rui Costa (Lampre-Merida). In 2016 he could become the only rider to win the Tour de Suisse four times in five years. Alongside the previously-announced Mathias Frank (IAM Cycling), Roman Kreuziger (Tinkoff) and Andrew Talansky (Cannondale), Robert Gesink (LottoNL-Jumbo), who wore the yellow jersey for three stages in 2010, Laurens Ten Dam (Giant-Alpecin) and Benat Intxausti (Sky) all have ambitions to take the lead in the overall rankings. 

The Tour de Suisse is also pleased to welcome former World Champion Philippe Gilbert and Olympic Champion Samuel Sanchez (both BMC), triple stage winner Michael Albasini (ORICA GreenEdge), former cyclocross World Champion Zdenek Stybar (Etixx-Quickstep) and Frenchman Warren Barguil (Giant-Alpecin), third across the line during last year's 8th stage in Bern and 6th in this year's Liege-Bastogne-Liege. His teammate Simon Geschke, who succeeded in leaving the best climbers far behind him during his stage victory at Pra Loup during last year's Tour de France, is already looking forward to the steep challenge of the Rettenbach Glacier (7th stage) and the Davos Alpine Circuit over the Albula and Flüela Pass on the final day.  

The anniversary route is 1,220 kilometres long and very demanding. With 19,622 metres of altitude, three summit finishes and 16 climbs, it's sure to challenge every professional. InfrontRingier will announce which other top riders will be competing in the 2016 Tour de Suisse at a media conference on 1 June, 2016, in Zurich. Invitations to the conference will be sent out in the coming days.  

Media enquiries:

Jolanda van de Graaf, Media Office Tour de Suisse (Tel. +41 79 222 07 69, media(at)tds.ch)


share this page