Hartmann for the second time, premiere for Bissegger

At the Swiss Time Trial Championships in Gansingen, Elena Hartmann and Stefan Bissegger won the national titles in the elite category.

At the Swiss Time Trial Championships in Gansingen, Aargau, the new Swiss champions were crowned in the best conditions. Due to the late date of the championships, the starting field was somewhat smaller than usual. While the current European champion and four-time Swiss time trial champion Marlen Reusser has already ended her season in the women’s race, Stefan Küng was also absent due to injuries he sustained at the European time trial championships.

Stefan Bissegger, on the other hand, was back at the start after a two-year absence in the fight for the coveted champion’s jersey and the Thurgau native left no stone unturned. With a lead of more than one minute, the 25-year-old secured his first Swiss champion’s jersey in the elite category and relegated Yannis Voisard and Noah Bögli to the other ranks. The joy about the title was great for the silver medalist of the European Time Trial Championships in Drenthe. “I’m very happy about the jersey and glad that it went well. I didn’t have the best season, so it’s nice to be able to show what I’ve got at the end of the season.”

In the elite women’s race, Elena Hartmann was able to defend her title from last year. She won with more than two minutes ahead of Nicole Suter and Michelle Stark. The 32-year-old was very satisfied after what she describes as a difficult season: “It means a lot to me to ride another year in this beautiful champion’s jersey. In the past time trials this season it didn’t go at all, so I started from scratch again in preparation for these championships. It paid off, everything worked out today and it was really fun.

Photo-Credits: Sam Buchli

In the elite national category, defending champion Noah Bögli secured his second champion’s jersey ahead of Simon Vitzthum and Leonard Hofer. Fabian Weiss also defended his U23 title ahead of his Tudor teammate Tim Rey and Luca Jenni. Noemi Rüegg also prevailed again and won her last race in the U23 category, Linda Zanetti had to make do with second place like last year. Third place went to Léa Stern.

In the junior women’s event, Kyra Reichmuth celebrated her first championship title, beating Lara Liehner and Livia Steinmann. In the juniors Nicolas Bialon was happy about his first gold medal. Luca Bühlmann and Simon Wirz completed the podium.

In the paracycling event, Benjamin Früh and Sandra Stöckli succeeded on the handbikes; Céline van Till and Timothy Zemp let themselves be celebrated as the winner and winner, respectively, in the standing.